Wednesday, December 20, 2017

The Republicans Who Voted No

These are the Republicans who voted against the tax bill on Monday, and they will likely vote against it again today when it comes up for a re-do:
Walter Jones
Rep. Dan Donovan, New York
Rep. John Faso, New York
Rep. Rodney Frelinghuysen, New Jersey
Rep. Darrell Issa, California
Rep. Walter Jones, North Carolina
Rep. Peter King, New York
Rep. Leonard Lance, New Jersey
Rep. Frank LoBiondo, New Jersey
Rep. Dana Rohrabacher, California
Rep. Christopher Smith, New Jersey
Rep. Elise Stefanik, New York
Rep. Lee Zeldin, New York
The New York and New Jersey reps are probably among the most endangered Rs in the upcoming mid-terms and are justifiably trying to save their bacon. North Carolina's Walter Jones, a former Democrat and a once and future pain in leadership's ass, issued a statement saying he saw no logic in borrowing a couple of trillion dollars from China in order to give rich people a tax break. No logic whatsoever.

The Darrell Issa and Dana Rohrabacher no votes are the clearest indication you're likely to get that smart Republicans see a Democratic wave coming in 2018. Issa won reelection in 2016 with a 1,600-vote margin, a tighter than expected outcome, and he's been raising money for 2018 as fast as he can.

Rohrabacher, who second only to Trump loves Vladimir Putin more than bacon fat, has attracted plenty of negative publicity, and his reelection is already rated a toss-up (as is Issa's for that matter) before anyone even knows which of approximately 300 willing Democratic candidates will win the privilege to face him.

No comments: